Lately there has pretty much been a major over use of the cult classic, the vampire. Personally as the kind of person that believes that if I step in to mushroom circle the fey will abduct me and I eagerly await the day I can afford to go to on expeditions to the all the worlds supernatural haunts. But personally I find that to some point one has to step away and say "Am i taking this to far?" Many Twilight fans have lost the ability to discern the difference between simple like and complete and utter abandonment of their good sense. I mean I can't walk in to Hot Topic anymore with out running in to some Twilight paraphernalia. Personally I don't want to rub anyone the wrong way (I don't want to rub anyone) but lets face it, Twilight is not the greatest piece of literature to be churned out this century or lets face it this decade. I'll be the first to admit I liked Twilight, for what it was, a very frivolous teenage romance that doesn't have a snitch of realism in it, something I decided to pick up because of good reviews and honestly I probably should have been spending my time reading something more productive like War and Peace or Jane Austen.
But to those who like vampires and want to read and watch more stuff with vampires in them this is my reviews on the ones I believe are worth taking a peak-see at,
Vampire Dairies: the TV series not the book. Honestly I am a big believer in the mantra " The book is always better than the -insert the media type- but in this case I worked hard to try and read the book....just wasn't enough to catch my interest. Blondy cheerleader meets hunky new student and I honestly couldn't get past it to get to the point were she finds out he's a blood sucker. The TV show is also the same teenage blabber not much depth, but it's fairly addicting. One reason I put this ahead in my list is because
1. Stephens devious brother , Damen, I enjoy his antics.
2. In Twilight Edward is always carrying on about how dangerous he is to Bella. He never so much as touched her pretty little head. Stephen on the other hand makes a point to stay away from her because though he also has never so much as licked his lips around her his brother is genuinely scary enough to warrant some concern.
The Fearless Vampire Killers: This oldies spoof is a good laugh. The assistant Alferd and his overly dramatic facial expressions were my favorite part. The oldies style make-up and special effects make it an interesting and the randomness of it gives in a spunky edge.
Lady hatter: Hilarious. The fact that the vampires are evil makes it worth while.
House of Night: I love this series. Zoey has a good head on her shoulders as a teenage character and I like that she pays for her mistakes and she makes up for them with hard effort. The cast of it is adorable. I love Stevie Rae and her Okie twang, it reminds me of home in the deep south. and Damen. He's obviously gay but he's not in your face about it and he has a good vocabulary which I believe is taken for granted these days.
Lady Hatter: It holds a sense of realism. She doesn't think she's the queen of the world just because she is a vampire. Bella on the other hand has a habit of treating every one around her with some amount of contempt except the Cullen's. Honestly her antics aren't worth the attention because she never seems to do anything wrong. Zoey on the other hand has flaws which make her a believable character.
True Bloods: Personally me and Hatter are at a disagreement about this. I like house of night better but she likes true bloods better and she put up some valid point. their being:
1. Sex- her point being vampires are supposed to be creatures of debauchery. yea for sins of the flesh!
2. The vampires are sometimes very evil. not all of them are but their just like people, some are nice and some want to drink you blood.
Don't get me wrong I love Truebloods and the Sookie Stackhouse books \. I have to say we both are in agreement that Sookie should ditch Boring Bill and go hook up with Viking Eric. The crazy viking is just a treat. seriously if there was a 500 year old, 30 odd looking viking that was still perfectly intact.... come on girls lets be honest with our self's. I also love Sookies deep south sensibility. Sookie is always getting herself in to some sort of shanagans.
Dracula: Duh, it's the original. If you can't spend the time to respect the classics then you have no business on this blog. I mean Gary Oldman, Keanu Reeves, Winona Rider. It's a great thing! and Anthony Hopkins of course.
" We may still have time to save her precious mortal soul... but not on an empty stomach." That's all I can say on the subject it's just a must-see.
Underworld, ALL OF THEM: it's an amazing, guns blazing, fang bearing and supernatural creatures ripping each other the f*ck apart, joy ride with out much joy. They have a very lovely cast also, but it's got an actual plot that runs deeper than any action film I've ever seen (which to be honest aren't many). It's not just shoot' em up, it's about war and intrigue and sex.
Lady Hatter: Underworld is my most favoritisit vampire movie it has sex, drama, and mythical creatures and Micheal Sheen and Scott Speedman are beautiful reps of the nonhuman races and Kate Beckinsale is looking hella sexy in all that leather, but the aesthetically pleasing aspects aren't the only thing I love about these movies it's the history of the vampire and lycan races and the depth of which this story ventures I mean some of it is kinda hard to follow the first time around but once you have the gist of it it is one hell of a ride that you do not want to miss. Lucan is amazing you don't see much of him in the first movie (though he plays a crucial role and by the second movie he's dead) but Underworld: Rise of the Lycans gives more insight into the long life time of hiding and deception that he lived not to mention how sexy he is.
Interview with the Vampire: book and movie. Anne Rice is the foundation of every vampire story of the last decades. She was the one that made vampires cool by giving a inside look at the workings of the vampires mind.
She also made a model of how every vampire should be.
Louis: the immortal mourning his ever slipping humanity. A sad and lonesome creature looking for the meaning of his existence and nature and Satan defy answering him.
Claudia: The innocent that is dragged in to immortality and has to deal with never getting to experience life and with powers that they will eventually use when they break with reality and start to destroy.
Lestat: The best and least loved vampire. He's insane and that's the way it should be. He's a creature of physical need but with a cunning mind that after a few centuries of petty hunting and feeding needs to be entertained. He's flamboyant, he flaunts the fact that he's a Superior being and enjoys it.
These are me and Lady Hatters favorites. If you have any that we're ignorant of, please fill free to tell us.
p.s. for those with kids, the bunnicula books are amazing kid stories and they'd be great family reads... even we sometimes bring them out from time to time and they still make me giggle.
--The Last Nugget and Lady Hatter
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment